Thread: new to tuning help with afx

Tuner in Training

new to tuning help with afx

I am new to tuning and I am trying to figure some stuff out as far as logging my afr and logging it in lambda so I can figure my maf and ve tables easier.

I purchased a AFX wideband and I am wondering about the transfer function

so far I have 5/(1.098-0.618) + 0.618

v/10.4166 + 0.618

Is this correct?

Aslo I have read about stoich in hpt being 14.68 and with the afx it is 14.56

Where does this come into play with my calculations?

Also If i'm using diff fuels such as e10(which I understand has a stoich value of around 14.2)........how does that affect my calculations? What do I need to change for that? Is that the part in my Maf error PID where I would divide actual afr by 14.xx

I have a lot of questions

thank you

Based on the Lambda range above and stoich AFR=14.68
    (Volts/0.7096)+9.072=AFR

(3.98/0.7096)+9.072 =14.68
    (3.98/10.4166)+0.618 =1.00

Based off the Lambda range from the AFX manual (0.62-1.1) and stoich AFR=14.68
    (Volts/0.7096)+9.102=AFR
    (Volts/10.4167)+0.62=Lambda

The AFR & Lambda ranges/expressions in the AFX manual do not match perfectly.
    WBO2 Expressions.xls

If you change the stoich AFR value you need to change the PID expression to match.
    The voltage equal to stoich AFR should be the same voltage equal to Lambda 1.00
    Last edited by mr.prick; 04-08-2010 at 05:50 PM.

Tuner in Training
    I see now. thanks for the info

How is everyone hooking the AFX up?.........It says don't use a cigarette lighter plug, and it looks like it wants all the grounds going to one central location...............so just use the input wire on the interface and run the ground to the chasis?

thanks

Advanced Tuner
    i think the afx reads stioch as 14.5 instead of 14.68

AFX reads stoich as 14.57, which I ignore. I don't use the gauge at all.