Thread: 06 GTO SD mode/ Safe mode

Potential Tuner

06 GTO SD mode/ Safe mode

Hey guys I am new to tuning and am trying to tune the VE on my Heads/Cam GTO. I followed the how to stickie word for word but am having a wierd issue. After driving for about 5 minutes the car will go into "safe mode" ie no throttle output. What do I have screwed up? Thanks in advance Kyle.

HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    It would be helpful if you posted the file you loaded as well as a scanner log showing the issue you are seeing.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

A wise man once said "google it"

Advanced Tuner
    There was a issue with some of the 04-06 GTO's having a bad electronic pedal assembly that would cause the car to go into safe mode due to a dead pedal.

I am not sure if this is the same as your issue though.

Potential Tuner
    Sorry here is the tune file i do not have a log file as i didnt save them because of the issue. I will get one if necessary

Potential Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by Sneakyws6
    There was a issue with some of the 04-06 GTO's having a bad electronic pedal assembly that would cause the car to go into safe mode due to a dead pedal.

No it only does it in sd mode I can flash my idle only tune back and it goes away. If I leave the sd tune in it will still be there when I restart the car, but if I reflash the tune it will go away for about 5 min then come back.

Tuner in Training
    Quote Originally Posted by Sneakyws6

Sorry to correct...04's are cable driven 05-06's are ETC

Does the car have long tube headers?
    Any other mods to the car (high flow cats, etc.)?

Quick observations from posted tune
    1. The car will not stay in open loop unless you also max out the values (seconds) for CL delay. Also max out the LTFT values so LTFT doesn't interfere with tuning.
    2. PE delay rpm; change back to stock value
    3. Do you have an MAF, or are you just trying to disable for VE tuning?
    Flea