Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Non-VVT vs VVT Tuning

Non-VVT vs VVT Tuning

Hey guys I’m new to VVT. I have a 07' Sierra Denali 2wd 6.2L VVT, has anyone here had success getting additional power out of a VVT motor by adjusting the timing? Here is a copy of a couple timing Map's…. Non-VVT vs. VVT. The maps are pretty different, especially in the midrange. Should the same rules apply when advancing timing for more performance?

Should I just leave it alone?

Any pointers would be much appreciated...

Thanks,

07' GMC Sierra Denali 2wd
    6.2L L92/6L80, HP Tuners, Outlaw Intake w/Dry Filter, Magnaflow Muff, 22'' OEM Escalade Wheels, 2'' Drop Shackles

Last edited by markislive; 08-14-2007 at 10:24 PM.

TTT, I'd like to know if anyone has tried this also

Senior Tuner
    Doesn't matter what cam timing the motor has, advancing timing gives max power up to the point of detonation (at least with 93 octane and 10-11:1 CR)

I'd say advance it until KR, then back off a little, but do it with 91-93 octane gas (it's possible to overadvance with no knock retard if you run super high octane gas)

Quote Originally Posted by BBA
    Doesn't matter what cam timing the motor has, advancing timing gives max power up to the point of detonation (at least with 93 octane and 10-11:1 CR)

I'd say advance it until KR, then back off a little, but do it with 91-93 octane gas (it's possible to overadvance with no knock retard if you run super high octane gas)
    Thanks for the reply BBA....

Anyone else?
    2010 GMC Sierra Ext Cab SLT 2wd 6.2L/6L80 w/3.42's
    HPT Pro w/LM-1 Wideband, AR Longtubes, AFE Intake, Gibson 3.5'' Exhaust, SLP UD Pulley, 160* Stat... New times coming soon..

Advanced Tuner
    Post a shot of the PE/COT Spark Advance table and keep that in mind when adjusting. The 03 may not have as much PE/COT Spark Advance and instead have the advanced spark in the upper g/cyl cells..