Thread: Advice on timing for Lq4 - noobie

Advice on timing for Lq4 - noobie

Hi guys

2003 LQ4/4L80e/4.10, bone stock with LS1 intake, shorty headers & CAI

I just got my Lq4 Cherokee on the road. I'm new to HPT but have done a lot of reading.

Right now I'm wanting to tweak the TM and timing. As it is this thing blows away the tires in 1st and most of 2nd. I'd like to use TM to reduce the torque in 1st & 2nd in hopes it will hook up.
    Also, I'd like to be a little more aggressive with the timing. The LQ4 came out of a 3/4 ton truck with a GVW in excess of 10,000 lbs. I wish to continue using 87 octane because is so expensive. I see no knock activity in my log. the truck is around 3300 lbs with 4.10 rear. It engine does not work to make this thing move. Cooling system maintains 87* C in 30* ambient.

If some kind person would view my files and make a suggestion as to the TM & timing I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
    Richard
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by LS XJ; 07-26-2017 at 05:48 PM.
    ~ Richard ~
    1992 Jeep XJ - Gen3 - 6.0LS, 4L80e, 4.10, 2wd

I don't see the knock retard channel being logged, so not really sure how you'd know if it was knocking. Add knock retard, injector pulse width and commanded AFR to your logs.

87 is going to limit you alot, run at least 89 to get away with a little more timing.

You really need to work on your fueling tables first before adjusting timing. The computer is having to add a ton of fuel at part throttle and full throttle, just look at your trims. The LS1 intake is much smaller than a truck intake and the headers are also changing the airflow of the motor, so the factory MAF curve and VE table are wrong now.

Low to mid 20's on timing is great for power on a 6.0, no real reason to try and max it out. The juice isn't worth the squeeze.