Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New guy with an issue I am guessing no one has came across.

Tuner in Training Capt. Insaino's Avatar

Exclamation New guy with an issue I am guessing no one has came across.

My engine is a 408 iron block with K1 Rods and Crank. Ceramic coated bearings and pistons, which are Wiseco. Dart heads that have been completely gone through by Brett Land at Land Speed Development.

This engine has been together and running for 5 years. About a month ago I ran it at the track on spray and it hit the limiter. The good news is that the nitrous shuts off at 6200 RPM's and the rev limiter is at 7k. I am not sure that plays any part of this, but I'm including it. I checked the valve springs, rockers, all looks good. There is no new noises from the engine. It still pulls damn hard, so I can't imagine anything happened to it. I have been working on LS engines since 1999 when I bought my Camaro, which I still own and is the subject of this post.

This car had great street manners and would idle perfectly all the time.

The issue is now, that it won't idle correctly. It will idle fine in park, but as soon as I put it in drive or reverse it almost wants to die. It started doing this after taking it to the track. Nothing on the car has changed other than install truck coils from a junk yard Yukon that I did BEFORE taking it to the track. I have tried both a new IAC and TPS, cleaned the throttle body as well. I reset the TPS and it will read .04 to .08% I checked plugs/wires.. nothing. The only thing I can see is that the front 2 plugs are a little black, I am running a super Vic intake. I have changed to truck coils with over 100k miles on them, but the car is not throwing any codes. I even unplugged a spark plug wire and it still didn't throw a code.