Thread: l96 swap help

Tuner in Training

l96 swap help

Been fighting this tune for some time and making a lot of headway but still having issues. Little history first, It's a L96 6.0/4l80 DBW swapped into my 70 Monte Carlo. The L96 originally came with a 6l90 but went for the 4l80 so had to use a 08 GMC Savana E38/T42 matching ecm/tcm combo to get things working.

Mods on motor are LS9 cam/springs, LS7 card style maf and 1 7/8" headers

I'm having issue's getting my stft to stabilize enough to get it 5 to -5 (which means I cannot get my ltft in line either). I get a lot of timing fluctuation at idle from 10-18 Degrees. I also get idle surging when coming to a light. On top of that i can't get a case learn done cause even though the limiter is set stock to 4k for P/N, it goes right past doing a case learn. Also if you manually shift the gears the limiter is set to 6300 but it goes right past that too so none of my set limits work. I'm still fairly new at LS tuning (way different from 3800 tuning) I'm pretty sure my min final airflow table is off too which isn't helping

Any help or pointers would be great
    1970 Monte Carlo L96/4l80 swap
    2008 Pontiac Torrent GXP 3.6vvt/6l70

Post the tune and logs.
    No one can see what is wrong.

Tuner in Training
    Sorry, though I did. Here's the tune, Ill get an updated log tonight as i made some changes to the idle timing and coast tables
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by monte0; 06-16-2017 at 05:15 AM.

Case learns on all the cars I've done them to are suppose to go straight past the park rev limiter. You are suppose to rev it to redline and let it fall back to idle and that's when the crank and cam sensors sync up.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Tuner in Training