Thread: Help with oscillating idle on '07 LS7, big cam, heads, intake, headers, light clutch

Potential Tuner

Help with oscillating idle on '07 LS7, big cam, heads, intake, headers, light clutch

I'm new to tuning and hope you guys can help me out. Finished this build five years ago. All was fine initially but after a while idle rpm began oscillating. Target rpm was around 950. Swings would go up to 1600 and then drop well below target. If it didn't catch itself the motor would die. Driveability was very poor. Lots of revs to take off. Lots of bucking under low rpm low load conditions. I had a few tuners "fix" it but the problem never really went away. I've avoided driving the car for last 3 years but its time to fix. Note the car runs great under throttle (700hp+ at the crank) but will lug heavily below 1800 or so. Wasn't a problem when I was doing track events, but I'd like to get some street driveability. Cam is 241/251, 650/658, 112 +2.

I studied the existing tune (as provided by the build shop along with changes made by other tuners) and noticed the idle effective area was set at ~8175. The math works (kind of) for a NW 102 tb, which I was running, but went back to the 90mm stock size to rule out the tb as the problem. Oddly, in looking at stock tunes for a '07 Z06, they all use ~8175. Why? In any event, I searched this forum and found others using ~5600 for a 90mm tb so that's what I changed to.