Thread: 2007 Saturn Sky redline spark maps advanced

Potential Tuner

2007 Saturn Sky redline spark maps advanced

Spark Timing Charts.jpg

Hello! Newbie here trying to attach my timing charts for all to criticize/give comments. I am new to the HP tuner, reading night after night until my eyes bleed or I fall asleep!
    My brother and I are trying to tune his 07 sky redline. Brand new GM block, head, and turbo. I ported the head and we are carefully tuning now that it is broke in.
    The short version... we took it to the strip last Sunday and with the better of the maps we had, started to tune some basic changes.
    1st run, afr 11.5:1 ,23psi= 15.2 ET.
    2nd run afr 12:1, 23psi=15.2 ET.
    Then, only worrying about the drag strip wide open runs, I did a dinosaur timing advance and made like I twisted the distributor, and added +2 degrees advance across the board to all 4 cam spark advancd timing charts (just for the drag race tune at this point, not road driving necessarily). Starting with what was in our computer for the stock timing (as far as we know it), we now started watching and listening with the afr left at 12:1 and watching live for knock retard.
    At +2 advance=15.0 ET
    at +4 =14.7 no kr
    at +7 =14.5 no kr
    at +9 =14.3 no kr
    at+11=14.1 no kr
    at+13=13.97! Did 2 runs back to back because of just a couple blips of low knock retard. One run had a couple blips, and the other run had none. But we decided to stop there.

On the drive home, no knock retard. We are running 93 octane and even though the drive home looked safe on the data, we decided to back off the timing a bit to an earlier stage until we investigate this +13 degrees of extra timing.
    I don't plan on leaving the tune this way with a full extra 13 degrees of advance across the board. I still have a lot to learn about the whole tune before I do much more.