Thread: Startup and octane

Tuner

Startup and octane

can someone please revise my tune and help me with the following issues:
    1.when i turn on the car the idle drops and sometimes turns off
    2.how do i change the octane to use 93 premium

thank you in advance hope someone can help me!
    included are
    log for wide open throttle and regular driving
    stock tune (2015 5.0 padrino)
    and my tune (5.0h tune tst 1)
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by xinacyra; 05-21-2016 at 03:08 PM.

whats done to the vehicle?

Tuner
    just mbrp 3 inch cat back everything stock

I would advise putting the vehicle back to stock and start with altering the spark tables and go from there

Tuner
    thanks man ill re do it again its my first try at it

Do these cars really need increased advance for any fuel other than 100+ octane?

Senior Tuner
    With 93 oct. I don't think the MBT tables need to be increased. The borderline tables can be increased and the knock advance rate reduced. This essentially reduces the stock safety net that compensates for gas quality and external conditions. It also puts the spark in a better position from the start and there is no delay of advance by waiting on the knock advance rate. I don't know if the car will dyno higher from this but it will make the engine respond quicker. Tuning the airflow and lambda helps a lot more. spark advance should be limited while these are tuned then brought back in once you feel they are improved. You can see this trend in the HPT layout from left to right.

Tuner
    here is my revised tune
    Attached Files Attached Files

Senior Tuner
    First you need to re-enable your torque module switch. Then put the engine inertia torque back to stock 0.0254. set the maximum torque max gross table back to 11801.

This should get the car to start and idle with out dieing.