Thread: Stand alone 1.4 engine swap

Advanced Tuner

Stand alone 1.4 engine swap

I have a 2012 Cruze 1.4 swapped into an autocross car. I'm having trouble with the VSS signal source. I can produce a working VSS with the Calibrate option in a Dakota Digital box, but if anyone has a method of tuning one of these engines WITHOUT a VSS source, I'd love to know about it.
    There is an option under transmission General, that selects VSS sensor NONE. Has anyone tried that?

The 1.4 is mated to a Volvo 4 speed transmission. One option is install a digital speedometer drive, but I'm reluctant to do that.
    If I'm going to create a VSS source I'd rather do it off a front wheel.

I'm new to tuning, but have done many engine swaps.
    No one has ever accused me of taking the easy way out.

PS, the 1.4 now (as of yesterday) has an upgraded Garrett turbo on it. As long as I supply the fake VSS it runs like gang busters.

Del Long

Advanced Tuner
    I did find an option under transmission to select VSS = None.
    I turn VSS off and the MPH reads 158 MPH, but the RPMs won't go over 4500.

PS With the OTC (over the counter) tune from Trifecta it turns 7500 with 22 PSI boost and 22 CFM air. That's with the generated constant VSS of 49 MPH.

OH, I should go back and see if the speedometer corection can bring the MPH down to 50 or so. I'll try that tommorrow.

Del

Advanced Tuner
    Things I learned today. DO NOT attempt to load a tune that has VSS = none, AND an external signal supplied VSS attached to the ECM at the same time.
    You WILL brick the ECM. It become incommunicado. No communication at all. No code reader, no editor, no scanner.
    I didn't realize what happened the first time, and then I did it again.
    So I'm on my third 2012 Cruze ECM.
    It's a good thing they only cost $45.00 from Ebay.

New question. Does anyone know how to wake up a bricked ECM?

I assume the answer is NO.