Thread: Tuning with dan Maslic's book

Tuning with dan Maslic's book

First tune after new injectors using book settings.hpt
    VCMSuiteInfo.txt
    More MAF increases.hpl
    After speedo and new injectors.hpl

I’m trying to tune my first engine build using Dan Maslics “Master EFI Tuner” book with HP Tuners (basic). I’m using Case Study 3 and can‘t get past the first step. I’ve set my ECM up by his criteria and am not having any luck tuning the Idle MAF AFR calibration. My target AFR is 12.5 and my actual reading is 14.5. I keep adjusting my “MAF Airflow vs. Output Frequency” (from 3,000hz and lower) to richen the mixture to equal 12.5. Each time I do, the STFT (reads -45 after 2 ) keep pulling more and more fuel out but my wideband always reads an AFR of 14.5. Does any know why this is?
    2012 ZL1 automatic, CAI intake,

Tuner
    I'm no expert but why would you have any fuel trims on? It's going to always try to add or subtract fuel to go back to stoich.

Click this link and go to page 13 http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...,d.b2I&cad=rja

I was following the book, but it's either wrong or I did something wrong. Should I disconnect the MAF? Turn off fuel trims? What else?

Tuner
    Click the link and a PDF will pop up taking you step by step. MAF tuning starts at page 13. If you're trying to recalibrate the MAF then it needs to be plugged in.

Sorry, I missed the link, Thanks

Disable the STFT Openloop in the Closed & Open Loop tables. O2's will try and keep AFR to stoich. If at idle, why is the target afr 12.5? Need to be in Open loop, disable trims, clear them etc. so the pcm doesn't keep trying to compensate for you adding more and more fuel. You add it and the trims take it out.....

Ed M
    Last edited by mowton; 02-12-2014 at 08:22 PM.
    2004 Vette Coupe, LS2, MN6, Vararam, ARH/CATs, Ti's, 4:10, Trickflow 215, 30# SVO, Vette Doctors Cam, Fast 90/90, DD McLeod, DTE Brace, Hurst shifter, Bilsteins etc. 480/430