Thread: Canyon I5 Tuning Questions

Question Canyon I5 Tuning Questions

Hello All. I'm new to this type of tuning - I'm one of those old school guys (I'm 45) and am extremely comfortable dialing in a carburator, distributor timing curve, and transmission shift points by changing governor weight springs. BUT, I'm new to flashing VCM's. I have a 1979 CJ7 w/a roller cammed, TPI injected 383 pumping out 379 Hp, but I had someone else burn a chip for me.

About 2 months ago, I bought a "07 GMC Canyon for my wife. I've installed a Borla exhaust, removed the second catalytic converter, and fabricated my own custom 3" high-flowing cold air intake. I'm now getting left bank fuel trim lean (0171 errors). I know with the I5, there is only "left bank" as only V6's and V8's have both a left and right bank. I'd like to get rid of these errors and improve the fuel economy of this pig! I've only been getting between 15 - 16 mpg. I don't need to make more horsepower or torque, it's a grocery getter for a soccer mom!

I'd like to get rid of the errors, the check engine light, and add some mpg to this hog. I'd appreciate your feedback. My full-size 1989 TBI injected 3/4 ton truck gets better gas mileage than this rig does! How do I go about dialing this thing in to eliminate the error codes and get the mileage up?

Thanks,

Jim

The stock ID of the tube where the Mass air flow sensor is mounted is 2.5" ID so going to have to rescale the MAF for the bigger tube. I put a k&n intake on for an '04-'06 3.5L on my '08 3.7L. This tube has a larger ID MAF housing that requires rescaling the MAF. I can tell you're oldschool by how you say "left" and "right" bank. I was getting the same lean code on my truck before it was tuned.

Talking I5 Canyon Tuning