Thread: New tuner/ maf tune

Tuner in Training

New tuner/ maf tune

I am new to tuning. I just logged my first scan. I want to try to do a maf tune, but I am unsure of what all to do. My main problem is trying to get a histogram to work for my maf hz and airflow. Once I have that I just correct the airflow in my pcm by multiplying the cell my half the differnce ie at 17500rpm my scanshows 2.54 but my table in the editor shows 2.40, I would take 2.54/2.40=1.06 then multipy the table in the editor by 1.03 using the 50% rule. Am I right or am I way off? Thanks for helping, oh and my car is a 2001 Grand Prix GTP and my mods are in my sig. Here is my scan and the config I made to see the maf table.

You should never need to calibrate your MAF unless you modified it or its housing.

I ported mine and pulled the sensor out, then installed an LS6 MAF further upstream, I unfortunately don't know what values to use for the new one as looking at stock vehicle BIN's of those that have LS6 MAF's all seem to vary. This MAF also flows over 11500 WOT, so I'm thinking I should probably buy one with a known accurate table.

Advanced Tuner
    This MAF also flows over 11500 WOT, so I'm thinking I should probably buy one with a known accurate table.
    This has nothing to do with the MAF table, it is a measure of the airflow through the sensor. The table simply converts the frequency (hertz) to a usable value (grams/lbs per second) so the PCM can meter fuel correctly.

If you're outflowing the MAF (hertz over 11500) then you nee to scale back the MAF sensor output, or add a resistor in the MAF sensor itself (like the SLP 85mm sensors have) to reduce the frequency.

Either way, I always start MAF tuning with a stock MAF table, regardless of which MAF sensor the car has installed. It doesn't matter where you start, you will end up at the same place if you do it right anyway.
    -Eddie