Thread: 99 C2500 5.7l IAT

99 C2500 5.7l IAT

Hi, guys! Noticed a similar thread, but that's for a different application from mine. I have LTH on a brand new 5.7 Vortec. Here's my question. As we all know, the hotter the IAT reads, the more spark it pulls back. It's running about 120*-130* with AC on, at 90* ambient. Here in South Texas, it gets to the low 100's pretty easily. My question is, should I adjust the IAT/Spark Retardation table, or just do what the guy who installed the engine for me's, suggestion. Which was, splice in a pigtail, and have the IAT read from the front of the truck. Which would be better? I plan on shielding the intake better (K&N), or even routing it to about where the stock intake pulls in air from the fender well. Lastly, is the retardation to protect the external components under the hood, or the internal? I'm still new to tuning, and have a rather... Eclectic variety of mechanical knowledge. This particular topic is one of those things I don't know very well. Thanks!

Advanced Tuner
    Leave it factory location. Or put it closer to the filter. Adjust your table to start removing timing at 115F get aggressive taking timing out after 130.

Advanced Tuner
    Ditch the K&N and pickup a Volant intake. Cooler air is better for power all around. I had a Volant on the 99 Suburban and later transfered it to the 99 Tahoe with the cammed 305 as well. My 2011 4.0L Pathfinder also has a Volant. The Volant system gave a noticeable power and performance gain on all 3. Be careful removing the timing retard. It can cause detonation and knock retard. Lastly use a 170?F thermostat. I got mine at Oreilly.

Advanced Tuner