Thread: MAF tuning + INJ Tip Temp

Advanced Tuner

MAF tuning + INJ Tip Temp

So I've been attempting to dial in my MAF since I'm a noob and its the easiest thing to start and learn to do. At first I was chasing my tail not watching injector tip temp when making adjustments. I've recently figured out that the Injector tip temp effects fueling, and cause a rich condition after a reflash, until it relearns. Here's what I'm struggling with. I try to log and make adjustments when the INJ tip temp is 120f-130f. It then slowly starts to creep over 130f and eventually over 140f, and then eventually it settles back down to around 128f after driving it for about 30 mins. When the INJ tip temps rise past 135f or higher, it starts to go 5% - 10% lean, until the INJ tip temps eventually come back down from driving it, or letting it sit overnight. Should I only be making corrections once the tip temp hits 135f or so? what is causing it to drift lean when the tip temp rises? I suspect I'm doing something wrong, and hoping someone could point me in the right direction. I suspect I should be making corrections closer to the 140f but not sure.

Green Tuner here...
    That is designed to compensate for heat soak. Ideally you get your MAF & VVE dialed in when injector tip temp is below correction levels (130 in my case)...

Then you let the heat soak happen, say full operating temp then shut off for 5 minutes or so.
    Restart and log injector tip temp and AFR (let it stabilize). Lets say you are at 145 Injector temp tip and running 5% lean then you need to increase the Injector offset vs Injector tip temp until your AFR is correct. Same goes if rich, reduce the offset milliseconds until you are at desired AFR

Obviously hitting all the cells in the table will take LOTS of time and many different situations to create the necessary heat soak.
    For me here in TX. In Summer I can let it idle in the driveway and watch the tip temp climb.