Thread: Optimum Power Map Point

Potential Tuner

Optimum Power Map Point

Hi,

I'm new to tuning Fords. My question is if I do this (Pic for reference) will the ECU just exclusively use the OP map 100% of the time?36087460_1563672887070971_127509942566387712_n.jpg

I hope i correctly attached the file

thanks

It's possible, but you would have to log to find out for sure.

Using these VCT tables to "disable" or "force enable" certain modes does not always work as intended. For example, my base tune appeared to have "best drivability" disabled, by setting the minimum load table to all 5's. That didn't disable it though.

Why would you want to be in OP VCT all the time though?

Potential Tuner
    I just want to deal with one or 2 ignition tables if possible

That's just not a very practical approach in my eyes. I have mine trimmed down to MP0,1,2,3,4,9,OP. This still lets the cams move around which is one of the big benefits of the Coyote engine. Tuning spark across those tables isn't as bad as it might seem.

Just log the MP weighting of the MPs used. When you want to make a spark correction, look at the weighting and change the correct table(s).

Advanced Tuner
    I'm pretty sure it will still be beneficial to TUNE a single table, like OP.

I feel the same as CCS86, even if you enable OP in this manner, other modes will still potentially blend in under certain conditions. It's just the nature of HDFX

It would be easier to tune a single table. Not beneficial to the state of tune.

Better off setting MPOP to 1 and all the rest disabled to 0 in the Map point configuration and in snap to point if you just want to tune one table. The way it is now, if the cam moves through one of those map points even while being in optimum performance it will still get weight in other Map point tables.

Advanced Tuner