Thread: 5.3L with sloppy stage 2 cam

Potential Tuner

5.3L with sloppy stage 2 cam

would anyone happen to have a base tune for an 03 5.3 with a sloppy stage 2 cam (228/230). has stock injectors. th350, drive by wire.

I have been trying for over 2 weeks to get it to idle without stalling when its up to temp with no luck.
    I have attached my current tune and a data log if anyone sees something wrong that would cause this. I am very new to hptuners.

thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files

Fix the airflow model first. You will just run yourself in circles if you try to dial the idle in when the whole airflow model and fueling isn't even right yet.

Look at those fuel trims, one bank is +18-22 and the other is pegged at +25. Either you have a vacuum leak or a really bad exhaust leak prior/directly after the o2 sensors. Or the camshaft threw the MAF/VE that far off but that seems unlikely if everything else is stock.

Verify fuel pressure is at 58psi and check for leaks first. Get yourself a wideband so you can fix the MAF and VE tables. Then once those are much better the fueling is corrected getting the idle to behave will be much easier.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

The VE table is showing some excessively rich #'s... Like 5F says-fix the VE table first, then MAF, then base running airflow. I did not see a W/B in the log. Do you have a W/B? If not, you can still tune it, but it is so much faster with the W/B. Also, have you seen this thread: https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...e-(w-pictures) It will lay it all out for you and get you going.