Thread: timing help

Tuner in Training

timing help

Hello all. I'm new to tuning. I have a lq4 with 243 heads that have been milled .030. cam specs .610/.606 224/232 114 ls. tbss intake with 92mm t/b and long tube headers. This engine is on my airboat. My max engine rpm is 5800rpms due to gearbox ratio and max prop rpm. Right now I'm running 23 from 2200 rpms to 4000rpms. running 25 from 4000rpms and up. With this timming I can get the engine up to 5200rpms. I started with 21 from 2200 to 4000rpms and 23 from 4000 and up. with the 21 and 23 my max rpm was 5000rpms. I'm picking up around 100 rpms with each timing change. I don't want to hurt the engine by running to much timming. I'm watching my knock reduction and have none so far. The prop acts like a dyno. The more rpms I'm able to turn the prop at a set pitch the more power I'm making.
    The tune that I'm working off of was done by a shop but I changed the intake/injectors/throttle body.
    I'm running a SD tune. I've tuned the Ve table and have it running great but would like to make the most safe power I can. Thanks for any Help

Advanced Tuner
    Spinning a prop is heaps good for tuning, so many variables of tuning a car are removed.
    With your approach you are on the right track.
    You will likely see that when adding more timing from the best point the rpm won't increase, and adding timing from that point would cause knock.
    Are you using the real time tuning function?that would save heaps of time flashing and re testing.

Tuner in Training
    No I'm not using RTT yet. I just learned about it the other day. I'll check in to it more. Thanks for the help.

Airboat huh? What neck of the woods you in,....u near me in Florida? Airboats,....that's right up my alley ��