Thread: 5.3L with LS3 cam tunning? LTFT 20-30% to lean

Advanced Tuner

5.3L with LS3 cam tunning? LTFT 20-30% to lean

I'm new to the hole Gen IV tuning program, I did a Ve, and maf tune on a E40, using a wideband, to populate the VE table. Never tuned for much of a cam before.

I have a 2007 5.3L LH6 from a 07 Silverado crew cab, all aluminum block DOD motor with 243 heads. would have been a E38 PCM originally. 2580681 is the gm part number for my injectors. I had to switch to a E67 to run the motor in my 04 Colorado. I'm using a 07 CTS-v base tune (E67 PCM). I installed a LS3 cam, LS7 lifters, LS3 valley cover deleted my dod. I'm running a LS2 intake with the 2580681 stock 07 truck injectors using spacers, and I'm running the 07 truck 88mm TB, Volant cold air intake, with LS7 maf (E40 style maf was used on the CTS-v originally). Using OBX try Y 09 Colorado 5.3L headers, high flow cats.

Cam specs 0.551/0.525 204/211 117 LSA Should be 21 HG at idle, and around 400 HP @ 6100 RPM, and 395 ft/lbs @4900 rpm

I have changed the IAT axis to match the LS7 maf/IAT, and copied the MAF freq data from a 09 Colorado file to ge the correct LS7 maf info. The injectors I've copied from a 07 trailblazer that uses 2580681 injectors. I've changed the displacement from 6.0L to 5.3L

Now I will definitely need a MAF, and Ve tune, at the very least, but I thought with a mild cam like this my VE wouldn't be so far off? With the stock Ve table for the CTS-v I'm idling around 25 to 30% LTFT and setting to lean codes for both banks. I tired copying the 09 Colorado 5.3L VE, hopping that might be a closer start, I'm still almost exactly the same, and running far to lean! Its really hard to start, and wants to stall easy too! If I unplug the maf, IAT seems to stay at 32F which is close to what it is running at the temp in the shop anyway, then it starts way better and idles around -5 to -8% LTFT way better idling, what is this?