Thread: tuning help for thumper cam in lm7

Potential Tuner

tuning help for thumper cam in lm7

Hey guys I'm new to the world of tuning and need some help . I have a fresh lm7 5.3 ,hooker long tubes, full hooker ls swap exhaust and 4l60e trans bracket ,new valve springs ,comp thumpr 275t. The lm7 is a drive by wire setup and is a 2003 Silverado engine . I swapped it in my 85 c10 swb and am at the tuning point . I bought hp tuners and googled a lot and read a lot on this forum and it helped me get to the ok idle and ok drive performance . My problem is it will not idle with out being rich and it will not idle well in gear at all and slightly bucks at the stop light.I followed a few tunes posted up here and no luck .I also tried the repository and downloaded different tunes and compared them also copied and pasted with no luck either. No one seems to tune the cam I have . Thanks guys for the help ahead of time .

Well copy and pasting someones elses work is never going to get you far. Not every engine and setup is the exact same and not everyone lives in the exact same place so the tunes are never going to correct for everyone.

You need to take the time and tune this thing yourself, it really doesn't matter that not many people use that cam because you'll have to tune the engine for what it wants anyway.

Start with VE tuning, then working with the MAF. Fix any idle problems you have along the way but many times fixing the VE and MAF do wonders for overall drivability.

Grab yourself a wideband too because you are going to need it. Read up on VE tuning in speed density and that'll be one of the first things you want to do. Also make sure any injector related tables are correct if you swapped those or if you used the stockers from the 5.3.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Potential Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by 5FDP View Post