Thread: Tips and pointers for newbie

Potential Tuner

Tips and pointers for newbie

My hp tuner pro should arive today, I've never done any tuning to this degree before. We have bought this package for a build we are doing at the shop. I'm sure that I'll have a million questions, probably really obvious questions for you pro's out there. Any tips before i get started would be great. Thanks

Tuner
    http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showth...tarted-Threads

Learn your way around the scanner.

Potential Tuner
    thanks for that codes, how does the credits program work? I license a vin# and build a tune in that computer, then any future changes to that vin/computer, does not require more credits?

Your MPVI should have come with 8 credits, we'll just say they are GM credits here.

You hook up your MPVI to the vehicle/computer, read the file with the Editor. It should then ask you what you want to do, view it or licence it. Click licence and go through the steps, it will take 2 credits and when it is done you will have 6 credits and 1 licenced file.

That "stock" tune file is the most important file of them all, that is your go to file if you ever screw something up or need to return to stock information for whatever reason. Any changes made to the file are all free, there is no credit charge for changes or writing back into your computer. You have unlimited flashes with that 1 licence to that computer.

Anytime you make any changes or make a new tune starting off with the "stock" tune you must save it under a new name. You should be able to go under "properties" on the stock tune file and change it to read only so you can't overwrite it.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Potential Tuner
    Thanks 5fpd, it has arrived today. Probably will not get a chance to mess with it till this weekend. Could you explain the repository system hp tuners?