Thread: Questions about the best tune for 99 Silverado 4.8

Questions about the best tune for 99 Silverado 4.8

Hey just bought hp tuner pro and looking to tune my 1999 Silverado. I took out cats and added long tube headers and exhaust. Not sure really where to start but it kinda looks like I would disable torque management lean out fuel table and do something w the power enhancement I'm a way better wrench than I am w computers but it's time to learn I guess. I currently live at 5000 feet and I am wondering if someone would be willing to help

Advanced Tuner
    I am also pretty new to this, but have been playing for about a year with positive results... The best thing for me was finiding a good tuning guide and starting with tuning the VE table. That alows you to tell the computer exactly how your engine is running in the environment you use it in. Not just how the manufacturer expects it to run well for everyone...

http://gmtune.ru/hptuners-tuning-guide

This has a lot of information to get you started. Then just keep reading and you will find most of the questions you have for that truck have already been answered. The benefit of going into well charted territory.

If you run into more specific questions this site has a lot of good people that offer tons of help.

Potential Tuner
    I have a 01 4.8 , haven't done to much on the engine side but have trans tune worked out good. If you are running a 4l60e be easy on removing tm, those trans are very week stock, I took out 50 percent on mine to stay little safe and it seems ok to me . just my 2 cents.

Advanced Tuner
    I have an 02 4.8 and still blew up three trannys with a stock tune and full TM, but then again, that's why I bought HPTuners in the first place, I needed to do a segment swap for the 4l80

Quote Originally Posted by Markmx6 View Post