Thread: Bricked ECM on 2007 Saturn Sky Redline

Tuner in Training

Bricked ECM on 2007 Saturn Sky Redline

So my first attempt at downloading a tune and I bricked my ECM. Does anybody here have any recommendations on purchasing a new one? Places to get one, places not to get one, stay OEM or aftermarket? Was looking at Andy's Auto Sport BigStuff3 GEN3 PRO SEFI - Magneto Upgrade. they have a ton of different ones starting from $190 on up to over 3K. Thanks for the help

Tuner in Training
    OEM but how did you brick it? That ECU is very common.

Tuner in Training
    I'm new to tuning with a computer, anyways I was trying to set up the histograms per the video in this forum and for some reason the same points like anything to do with Boost doesn't show up, sent a email to tech support. I was wanting bad to get the car back on the road, so I went to the repository and downloaded a tune that was for a 2008 Saturn Sky that is suppose to be the GMPP tune, thought I'd download that and have the car running until the scanner problem gets resolved. I didn't think to change the VIN in the tune and it locked up, and from that point forward the VCM can't find the ECM. I have the original tune from the car, but it won't download either. Tech support gave me 4 credits back and confirmed that the ECM is done. After all had failed to work I disconnected power for a day and tried again, but no talkie talkie.

You could check with the dealer about reflashing it back to stock with a tech 2 tool or just purchase a pcm.

Advanced Tuner
    Really rare that reading or flashing your ECU with HPTuners causes the ECU to brick. You can have a failure to complete writing or similar that will render the ECU temporarily erased, but not dead from a functional sense. Usually flashing a stock file back onto it with the Write Entire process will recover the ECU.