Thread: Spark for Decel - LNF?

Spark for Decel - LNF?

I have a 09 Cobalt SS/TC with the LNF and have been looking around the HP Tuners calibration file trying to find something resembling "Spark For Decel" that is found on Ford V8s with SCT Advantage.

I'm trying to retard the spark with closed throttle/decel to see if it will keep the exhaust gases flowing and not cause as much turbo lag during decel... and also to see if it will make the exhaust pop more. I found out about this on my Mustang GT and it sounds like the new Jaguar F-Type when decelerating!

Tuner
    although im a noob at this, i'll take a stab at it, if im wrong the more experienced guys will correct me.

first of all this is a bosch controller, bosch software, so there are a lot less tables unlocked compared to a more conventional GM software.

if you are above something like 2200 rpm if you get off the throttle the engine will go into Decel Fuel Cut Off (DFCO), which (selfexplenatory) cuts off fuel completely. So before we talk spark, you'll need fuel first. To turn off DFCO, go to Engine>Torgue Management>General > ETC Limits, table Torque Mgt Cylinder Disable, 4x4 table,fourth column is all "15" turn those all to 0, and that will disable DFCO.

as far as spark, i am not aware of a specific "decel spark" table, but you may be able to do something by manipulating "optimum spark" tables, maybe, but im guessing we dont have access to an actual table that does what you want. From what i noticed when you're off the throttle, spark goes to -3 deg, that is plenty retarded it seems like to me.