Thread: HPT & SCT x4

Potential Tuner

HPT & SCT x4

Hi,

I've been using SCT X4 to tune my 2006 Mustang GT for about nine months now. Relying on custom tunes I just purchased HPT so I can handle things myself. I'm excited, woohoo!

I've been studying here and have resources from Eric Brooks, Greg Banish and purchased the La Sota book.

I reloaded the stock Ford tune from my SCT device to the PCM. Read this out in HPT, copied it and worked on a tune in HPT. After a few versions, the car was running and idling well. I have not installed my wide band yet, Innovate LC-2, and I wanted to race this weekend, so I went back to upload my custom tune from the SCT device. Unfortunately it gave me a general error #11023, device already married to different device. I've been working with SCT to resolve this, still no resolution yet.

My question is that it seems like a natural progression to go from the SCT hand held to HPT. So, surely I should be able to go back and forth between the two. I've been told that the SCT is a stackable device and HPT customer service has indicated that HPT does not "marry".

So, my main question is how can I safely go between SCT and HPT and two, what is a stackable device?

Thank you, I appreciate your patience and input on this and the many forth coming questions that are rattling around in my brain.
    Last edited by mauitom; 09-19-2015 at 03:41 PM.

Tuner
    Did you use HPTuners to read and save the stock tune on the car before reading the SCT tune? Sounds like you tried to use the SCT to write over the custom HPtuners file, which I have never seen work..
    Current toy- 97 SCSB OBS chevy forged 6.0/4l80 combo with a bit of boost..currently back under the knife

To many previous vehicles to list

Banned
    Why would you want to do this? Pick one and stick with it. Return the car back to stock with the MPVI, then you can use the X4. The HPT MPVI does associate the VIN to credit allotments.

-Matt

Tuner