Thread: Custom tuning options for LE5 2.4! help!!!

Potential Tuner

Custom tuning options for LE5 2.4! help!!!

Hello,

I recently purchased a LE5 2.4l out of a Pontiac g6 that I will be swapping into my sand rail. I have two options I can go with here. One, I am able to send my PCM out to a company that will go through a put a tune into my PCM using the hp tuners software orrrr I can just buy the hp tuners software on line from the website hptuners.com and do it all my self multiple times if I have to. My problem lies where they make it sound like they have there own ready made hp tuners tune that they put in it them selves. I am wondering if I get the software my self will there be ready made tunes available and easy to use. I am a gm tech so I have a lot of experience with programming cars.

Senior Tuner cobaltssoverbooster's Avatar
    flashing with the gm tech 2 is a breeze as all you can do is reset the position values and flash whatever is sent to you through Tech. GMTech2 does not allow you to calibrate base data fields as that info is restricted to the engineering departments. A Tech2 is nothing compared to everything involved with calibrating an ecu through hptuners. if you want a preprogrammed tune you "will not" find it here at hptuners. a lot of times tunes left in the repository are engine setup specific and are incomplete requiring multiple changes to straighten it out for use on any other vehicle. I highly suggest reading through all the LSJ threads you can as it will be the closest to your 2.4 ecu. The newest ecu is a royal pain in the rear so a year for the ecu that you have may allows to tell you how hard it really is going to be to calibrate.