Thread: any tips for tuning a stock 2003 ext cab 5.3 silverado

Tuner in Training

any tips for tuning a stock 2003 ext cab 5.3 silverado

Any one have any tips for tuning a stock 2003 silverado? truck is stock with auto and 5.3 . The truck is a dog specially when I pull my car hauler. I have a wideband but really didnt want to get into a full blown tune on the truck until I do at least headers and cold air intake later. Im pretty new to tuning drive by wire also. Is it worth tuning the Ve and Maf on a stock 5.3 truck?
    Any tips for tuning it would be really appreciated.

You can always perfect the factory VE and MAF tables, they can be off a tad bit but it's not a must do thing.

Your rear gear ratio can make it feel crappy when pulling trailers aswell. 3.23's would be the worst, 3.73's are better. Otherwise to me not much else can be done to fix how it pulls trailers in stock form. Adding mods to the motor/trans maybe a stall or better rear gears would be required.

But you can still mess with tune to make it drive a whole lot better. Minor switches to power enrichment and torque management and even doing a minor trans tune can wake them up.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Senior Tuner
    Remove the power enrichment delay, but if you're going to tow, don't go nuts adding timing or going too lean. If you're going to tow often, I'd keep PE fueling at 1.2 EQ ratio or fatter.

I spent a lot of time with shift points and converter lock/unlock on my 2005 5.3 and it made a lot of difference in driving feel.
    Last edited by MikeOD; 05-17-2015 at 08:24 PM.
    2010 Camaro SS M6. Stock Bottom End, Heads/Cam/Intake/Headers/Exhaust.
    2005 Silverado RCSB. Forged 370 LQ9/Borg-Forced Inductions T6 S484/Jake's Stage 4 4L80E with D3 Brake/4WD.
    2023 Durango Hellcat

Tuner in Training