Thread: 1997 Regal L67 in RWD racecar: What to disable? (torque manage, abuse mode etc)

Tuner in Training

1997 Regal L67 in RWD racecar: What to disable? (torque manage, abuse mode etc)

Hey guys,

I have a L67 from a 1997 Regal GS in a RWD Locost-based car. Engine, and fuel/spark management are stock. Camaro 5spd behind it. Intake and full exhaust. Car is used for street driving and autoX.
    I'm new to tuning, and I am hoping someone could look at my file and help with some questions. I've taken care of the DTC stuff, other than a couple I missed.

-First, why are my fans on all the time? I can command them off with Scanner so know they are hooked up correctly.
    -In Scanner, my MAP reads 5psi at idle. Is there an easy tweak?
    -Abuse mode and torque management- should I disable all this? (I have no A/T range switch, and no VSS. I forgot to check what gear it thinks it's in)
    -AEM Wideband claims 15.3afr at idle. How lean do these engines run at idle? Short and long fuel trims are happy so don't know I believe that. It is possible I have an exhaust leak though.
    -Anything else I should be doing? Not concerned about power yet. Just need to get it running well/safely first.

Thanks for any help.
    Cory
    Attached Files Attached Files

Tuner in Training
    Also, if it helps this is the stock tune (with VATS disabled).
    Cheers.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Temp sensor unplugged??

I think if the temp sensor under the LIM is unplugged the fans will just run.

My grand prix used to idle around 14.5-15.3 on my wideband. An exhaust leak before the front o2 sensor can skew the numbers though.

I always read the MAP in KPA and just remembered the numbers for the conversion over to PSI. Made my life alot easier. Or I just had my aeroforce scan gauge reading my MAP in "in/hgs". Figure -19 to -20 at idle was the avg.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.