Thread: Avalanche 5.3 4l80 Questions

Potential Tuner

Avalanche 5.3 4l80 Questions

I recently completed a 4l80 swap into an 04 Avalanche. I also replaced the engine with another 5.3 out of an 02 Silverado. I am just beginning to mess around with tuning it. I am completely new to this. I have done the segment swap and it seemed to go fine. There are a few concerns I have currently.

1) The cats have been removed and I disabled COT and disabled the O2 Sensors minimum voltage codes. I am still getting Bank 1 and Bank 2 Lean codes. Can these be disabled as well or is there a legitimate problem?
    2) The TCC Slip RPM is all over the place, I saw where people recommend 0-50rpm slip under light load but I am typically showing -25 RPM and spikes up to 1000rpm?? This part has me actually concerned.
    3) Where do I actually start with tuning the engine or can I do much good without a wideband?

I have attached my log, config and tune files although Im not sure if I included the correct PIDs. If there is any other information that I should provide to give you guys a better picture of whats going on, let me know and I will correct it.

I appreciate any help I can get on this.

Avalanche_BeginTuning.hptConfig.cfg2015_0504_1700.hpl

Potential Tuner
    Ok. I was able to work through some of my issues. Most of my issues came because I was trying to use 2.25 to tune it which obviously is missing a lot of the tables. I tried opening the .hpt with 2.24 which would not work for obvious reasons. The licensing part was confusing me quite a bit and I did not realize I could just read the ECU again and open it with 2.24.

Once I did that I was able to see all of the missing tables which was a huge relief. I finished removing the vast majority of the torque management. On a recommendation in another thread I disabled Trans>Torque Management>Abuse Mode.