Thread: Colorado I5 VE Tuning using Fuel Trims... Am I doing this right?

Tuner in Training

Colorado I5 VE Tuning using Fuel Trims... Am I doing this right?

Hello HPT Forums!

I'm new to tuning, and am doing my best to read around here and other places on the net to learn.

I honestly think I'm being too nervous about it... BUT... Maybe you all can help alleviate my concerns.

So I've decided I want to touch up the factory VE tables on my 06 Colorado 3.5 Auto Truck... I'm aware that since the truck is stock (except for a cheap muffler a previous owner put on) there shouldn't be much change needed, but I figured this was a good place to start learning.

Obviously there are 5 VE tables based on cam position... One of them being the max advance position, and it never gets used.

What I've done so far is created (What I Hope Is) a Closed Loop Speed Density Tune which I will then use to log LTFT's to rough in the Factory VE Tables, then move to STFT's to further fine tune them.

The methodology I've used is as follows...

1) Created the CLSD Tune Attached and Flashed it into the ECM.
    2) Used Bi Directional Comms in the VCM Scanner to reset Fuel Trims.
    3) Logged about 50 miles of driving after the engine has already reached full operating temp.
    4) Copied and "Paste Special Multiply by half %" the Logged LTFT's out of each cam position VE Table into the corresponding location in the Editor.
    5) Flashed new Revision of VE Table.
    6) Reset Fuel Trims again to re-log and repeat the process again.

Is this methodology correct?

Could somebody take a look at my CLSD Tune and verify that I've got everything setup correctly in preparation for tuning VE?

Also.. I've included my first log and revision of the VE tables based on this CLSD tune... (I'm worried about how few of the actual cells are being used...)