Thread: My first crack at small cam tune on 2008 silverado, All input welcome.

My first crack at small cam tune on 2008 silverado, All input welcome.

Gentlemen,
    This is my first attempt on a non factory cam engine outside of the LS1/LS6 era. Truck is very responsive, drives really well around town with good clean acceleration (only playing with part throttle) but I feel like it is laboring around 2000-2400 rpm when using light acceleration up small inclines. (60%ish throttle) Would somebody please take a look at my Highway scan and see if anything pops out.

I have yet to dial in VE because honestly, I'm a little intimidated and was also unable to get a copy of BlueCats handy work to make it easier on us mortals.

Details
    2008 Silverado 4wd w/33" tires
    LY5 5.3 w/243 heads basically stock besides springs/rockers
    Small little custom grind EPS cam 218/222 on a 113 w/ cam set at 6* advanced to help with torque
    Doug Thorley Tri-Y's
    Attached Files Attached Files
    2014 Silverado 5.3 - New Mod Template

Jeez... I don't know how I missed the V4 of Bluecats software. I will start messing with VE tuning now.

Quote Originally Posted by mm_n_p View Post
    Jeez... I don't know how I missed the V4 of Bluecats software. I will start messing with VE tuning now.
    I did a write-up on this forum a while ago on the BlueCat software.....don't know if it will help but here it is.

Ed M

Quick tutorial on BlueCat.doc
    2004 Vette Coupe, LS2, MN6, Vararam, ARH/CATs, Ti's, 4:10, Trickflow 215, 30# SVO, Vette Doctors Cam, Fast 90/90, DD McLeod, DTE Brace, Hurst shifter, Bilsteins etc. 480/430

ERM Performance Tuning -- Interactive Learning ..from tuning software training to custom tunes
    HP Tuners Dealer- VCM Suite (free 2hr training session with purchase), credits and new Version 2.0 turtorial available
    http://www.ermperformancetuning.com
    http://www.facebook.com/ERMPerformanceTuning

[email protected]