Thread: Need help with cam tables please, throwing codes.

Tuner in Training

Need help with cam tables please, throwing codes.

tune2.hptLOG EX CAM 0 7MIN.hpl

hi, please take a look at these files and let me know what you think.

At roughly 7 mins into the log file the numbers for "exhaust cam angle" in the Table Display goes to 0 but in the Histogram Display-exhaust cam, it keeps on reading?
    did i do something wroung setting it all up?
    I just want to get rip of the codes and dont care much for actual tuning of these tables unles you guys think there is a problem with them.

I am a newb at tuning and read all the tuning help info threads on here and watched the videos. But I am still at a lost most of the time and its a very steep learning curve for me...

my Goal: safe 20-22psi for autocross duty
    The tune is a ZZP file. i changed the DAL tables for lower boost, lowered revlimiters and put some torque managent back... now i want to start tweaking it but need to sort this out fist.

thank you in advance
    Last edited by Z06VENOM; 12-24-2014 at 11:50 AM.

I can look at it later tonight. I run a flat 23psi for road racing. 22psi steady with quick boost response should be np. Key to power limitations will be octane which directly affects timing. Here is typically what I've found you can run safely (*E47/E85 peak timing numbers are from info on this site. I've only tested up to 110 octane which can run up to 25° with no kr):

octane peak timing

91 11°
    93 13°
    100 18°
    110/E47/E85 23-25°

Advanced Tuner
    I didn't look at your log but took a quick glance at the tune.

For starters, under Airflow > Variable Camshaft >Intake Camshaft; make your Base Angles the same for Main (Warm), Main (Cold) along with Knock and Main (Warm), Main (Cold) for Catalyst Heating. Do this by copying your Main (Warm) table to the other 4.

Do the exact same thing for the Exhaust Camshaft. (Copy your Main (Warm) Exhaust cam settings to the other 4.