Thread: I could use some advice on getting my idle under control

Tuner in Training

I could use some advice on getting my idle under control

Hey Guys,

I am new to tuning with HPT, but have had some experience street-tuning my 3rd-gen RX7 using the PFC and a WB(No MAF). HPT is whole other animal and way more complex! I have 2003 C5 Z06 with Heads, Cam(228/232 115LSA), LT headers, FAST 90/90, Vararam CAI and a pulley. The car has been tuned by a local tuner for WOT and part-throttle cruising and has been for years. However, drivability has been crappy and idles insanely rich. I cant keep the windows down at stop lights. I also have/had a hanging idle. I have tried taking the car back to the original tuner to adjust the tune without success. I also took the car to another shop and had it retuned and ended-up getting a hanging idle. Took the car back and they couldn't fix the issue.

This why I broke down and bought HPT and and AEM wideband. I have been reading the forum a lot and recently purchased Greg Banish's Tuning DVD from another forum member(Thanks Jim!) I am just waiting for it to arrive.

I tried to lean-out the idle cells in the main VE table and I downloaded Russ K's config and followed the procedure here:http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showth...ve-idle-config
    The idle was better sitting in my driveway. It wasn't smooth but it the AFR's weren't as rich(14.5-16.5) But, when I drove the car, the idle would get way rich (10.5 AFR's) as if some setting is off. I the care will also die if the A/C is turned on.

Can someone please a take a look at my logs?

TIA,

John

rich idle.hplLS6 with HeadsCamLTs.hpt

Tuner in Training
    Here are the Scan and VCM files
    Attached Files Attached Files

Advanced Tuner
    who the hell are you taking this to? i can post a file by modifying yours and you can copy over the differences if you like. What throttle body do you have? and injectors and head?
    Last edited by cesar; 12-14-2014 at 03:29 AM.

Tuner in Training