Thread: LNF: Let's talk cams

Advanced Tuner

LNF: Let's talk cams

Simply because I am bored and craving my winter-time theory conversations... I don't know if anyone in here is good with cam theory, it is certainly something I am not very good at, but I want to begin a discussion (might not be a good idea since I don't know enough about cams to be speaking about it), I know enough to be dangerous, and that's not good lol. Add in the continuous valve timing and it gets more difficult. I also do not know tolerances of the LNF such as how much lift we can fit, but intend to find out when I get in my new shop.

First, understanding that this is going to be a totally different discussion for different cars and power levels and uses, let's assume this is a 600whp EFR turbo'd LNF built for road racing. Extreme, but not out of reach.

Addressing the cam timing first, we have seen decent gains with this already, but I am positing that possibly the gains would be even more vast with bigger cams. I think with bigger cams this may help us smooth the idle out some on big cams, while being able to really roll in the steam on the top end. I think comparing this to something like the EVO's MIVEC system is going to be as good as we can get, granted, it's not controlling both cams.

Now, comparing the ZZP Stage 2 cams to other cams in the turbo sport compact scene, the ZZP cams are quite tame. For this, I think I would compare it to the 4g63 cams that BC, AMS, and others offer. I know ZZP has stage 3 cams out there, and I would like to see the specs on those. Maybe Matt M could chime in on those.

ZZP Stage 2: 224°/218° duration (assuming at 0.050" lift) .438"/.420" lift
    Brian Crower Cams Evo VIII: 276°/276° total duration 216°/216° duration at 0.050" .436"/.436" total lift
    GSC Evo VIII Stage 2 cams: Intake 274°/274° total duration .440"/.433" total lift
    Kelford Evo IX MIVEC Cams: 272°/278° total duration, .433"/.433" total lift