Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Random misfire, possibly injectors? (warning, long post, I’m desperate)

Advanced Tuner

Random misfire, possibly injectors? (warning, long post, I’m desperate)

I’m fairly certain I have at least one, and possible three injectors that just don’t want to behave. I’ve been chasing a random misfire for three years now. I know cylinder 3 is misfiring up to four times as often as the others from logging misfire history. But, others also show a significantly higher number of misfires, and it appears to be totally random in nature, as some logs have completely different misfire events. I put together a spread sheet to compare logs, and some logs show more events than cylinders during the previous logs, while other cylinders show fewer than previous logs.

As stated, the missfire is random. No rhyme or reason. Definitely a misfire, and not just surge or reversion. Above 2500 rpm, there is none and the engine smooths out. It feels like I have a burlap bag filled with clothing being dragged behind the car and it just kinda bounces along behind the car at an erratic pattern, but not nearly often enough to be reversion. The other thing that tells me it is a misfire, and not reversion, is I can hold a steady throttle position at 2200 rpm, it can still feel it. But it’s not missing every 100 milliseconds on the dot or any regular time period. I find it doubtful that I’d still feel reversion at 2200 rpm. The cam isn’t that big.

But anyway, not ruling out reversion, or anything at this point, I’ve done the following things to try and eliminate this.

I initially tried moving spark around from as low as 24 deg, to as high as 55 deg in the areas where this is occurring. Still there…. Tried matching all spark tables in this low rpm/low cylinder fill area of the table, no good. There are no spark dips that I can see on the logs. Spark is smooth as butter with no dips….

I logged voltage, and it was 14v, consistently.