Thread: General noob questions about LNF tuning

Tuner

General noob questions about LNF tuning

Hello all, I am new to this, still learning but very excited. I had a few things that i can't seem to figure out, hoping you guys could help me out.

1) scanner config: i started from a config i found in one of the forums, i think it was gmtech's then modified it quite a bit. I dont understand the difference between "sensor" and "PID" variables. I think that the "sensor" variables are generalized names of the data in a certain PID. Data seems to be identical, so i switched my entire config to looking at PIDs, am i missing something here?

2) On the LNF i notice 2 different PIDs for Airflow. MAF (sae) PID.16, which i assume is the reading of the MAF sensor. And there is another "VE Airflow" PID.2311, which i assumed is a MAP and IAT calculation of air flow, kinda like speed density does?
    a) My question is at part throttle, even low boost, those match very closely, however at WOT MAF reading seems higher than VE Air reading. Is this normal? does this imply that i have a boost leak? The only part on the car is a Injen upper charge pipe, that couldn't changed the VE enough to notice it in these measurements.
    b) which is the true airflow? should i follow MAF?

3) I am trying to be mathematical about tuning this, it is my first tuning experience, and i don't particularly want to damage it. I am struggling to understand these "load" pids and these "load" axis in the calibrations. For instance, there is a "Air Load" PID.2322, then there's "Absolute Load" PID.67, then there's "Calc Load" Pid.4. and all are different. Then the calibration axis have some obscure "percent load" unit, and most of them are different.
    a) Which "load" variable are you guys using? I am leaning towards "air Load" PID.2322.