Thread: LNF, Cobalt SS, rough idle after cat heating disabled

Tuner

LNF, Cobalt SS, rough idle after cat heating disabled

hello all,
    I'm a noob and i need help.
    I have a 2008 Cobalt SS with a Injen upper charge pipe, 3bar sensors, and a tune that is mostly stock + GMPP changes (what we can see at least).

I want to turn off Cat heating because it is noisy, a bit too agressive for a cold block (maybe), and a great opportunity to learn engines while im trying to fix this.

If i just turn off the Enable/Disable cal it ran very poorly, chasing rpm, oscillating throttle, spark time and cam timing.
    I think that even if i disable "cat heating" it still uses the "cat heating" cam tables, so i copied the idle warm values and put them in the "cat heating cam" tables, so -6 for exhaust +10 for intake. Now the cams are parked, and it cold-idles much better, stopped hunting the idle but i think i can do better.
    I also raised the idle RPM at low ECT, that helped but it's not quite perfect.

I think it would run better with more spark advance. (it now sits around 3 to 7 deg timing) But i can't figure out how to advance timing during idle.
    Cam tables, optimum spark tables, optimum torque tables are all GMPP values, and spark tables state 20 deg in this load area, however the car runs at about 3-5 or so. So i know there must be more to it than simple putting a higher value in the spark tables.

I've read a lot of threads, and dont think i came across the answer, unless it was staring me in the face and i didn't realize it. Noticed a username "gmtech..." that had a lot of advance at idle and low load, I can't think for the life of me how he got there.

Any advice is greatly appreciated, please help a new guy out and i think i might be added value once i catch up with you guys.
    Thanks in advance.

Advanced Tuner
    Read up on the recent optimum spark thread. Will help you learn how to bump idle timing that you're looking for.