Thread: 4.8 Computer running a 5.3?

Tuner in Training

4.8 Computer running a 5.3?

I recently swapped a 4.3 truck to a 5.3 and am currently in the process of working out all of the bugs. While setting my efans and familiarizing myself with hpTuners, I noticed that the computer I'm running is from a 4.8 truck as it says.

I guess my overall question is... Is this going to cause me any issues? Would it be best to get a 5.3 computer or reflash the current one? Are the maf table, fuel table, and such the same? I'm a tuning amateur at best and was hoping to have a good starting platform to learn from.

Thanks everyone.

To answer your question, it will matter that it says 4.8. The computer makes airflow calculations based on physically how big your cylinder volume is, and so you are basically running your 5.3 on the stored value of a 4.8. No problem though, you can change it all up. Just download a stock tune for a 5.3 truck from the tune repository, and then it will have a good starting point for you, and the correct cylinder volume. You can do all of this on that 4.8 ecm you have.

Tuner in Training
    That is good news. I've a stock tune out of the repository that looks good to use. Am I going to have to burn credits to use the file? What is my best way of going about the change?
    Last edited by S.Strehler; 07-17-2014 at 12:59 PM.

Advanced Tuner
    Don't use credits on a file you don't need. Simply use the compare function to view or update the data. It isn't the OS (file) you need, it's the parameters within the OS.

Advanced Tuner
    What I found when going the other way from a 5.7 file to a 5.3 file was this:

Clicking the engine size from 5.7-5.3 seemed to not change a thing. As if it's there for info only.
    Changing the cylinder displacement did change the VE table.