Thread: Help with LS6 tune on track car

Tuner in Training

Help with LS6 tune on track car

I am new to tuning. Car is a 2004 Z06, dedicated road race track car. The drive train is stock from the paper air filter to the stock exhaust. The only modification was the removal of the catalytic converters. the car was professionally tuned. I am getting knock retard at the same point on the track on most laps and continues the entire way down the straight. I notice I am in 4th gear, 100% TPS, and AFR in the high 13s or low 14 using an AEM wideband:
    9:51 4kr
    11:15 & 12.29 ok
    13:39 - 1.8 kr afr 13.9
    14:57 & 16:06 OK
    17:13 2.7KR sfr 14
    18:35 ok but not 100% tps
    19:35 2.7 kr 14 afr
    I also notice that some of the KR settings have been changed

I am looking for help to make the tune safer. The more specific the advice can be , the better
    Attached Files Attached Files

Advanced Tuner
    You need to log Air Fuel Ratio Commanded (Hi Res) PID so you can see what the ecm is telling the AFR to be.
    Add this to your config file you are using.

Your power enrichment says it should be approx. 12.7:1.

Looking at your wideband readings in the areas where the car is in closed loop, it shows real lean, yet the short term trims look great. The WB should be reading 14.7 there.
    Are you sure the WB is working? It doesn't look like it to me.

For the areas you see KR, you might reduce the timing a couple of degrees. See if it goes away. Or maybe try a colder plug.
    Y2K C5 A4 Coupe (10.78 @ 127) Cathedral port 6.2
    S476 L33 5.3 69 Nova 8.76 @ 158 Drive to the track street race car
    06 Cobalt SS bought new

May need to free air calibrate the WB?

Tuner in Training
    It seems the AEM uego should not need to be free air calibrated. I found a procedure in another thread describing how to calibrate the AEM to HPT. I will do this. Thanks for the additional PID suggestion. I will back the timing off a bit and do another log.

Advanced Tuner