Thread: 5.3 swap, low timing at WOT

5.3 swap, low timing at WOT

Working on a buddies truck, this one has had some issues on both the mechanical end and the tuning end (my first speed density tune)

82 c10
    06 L33, ls6 cam, 1X cam sensor setup
    turbo 350 trans

The issue we are having is its not getting much timing at WOT, maybe 10-15* and its a dog. I can command 25 and it pulls hard and gets zero knock. I just cant seem to figure out why we are not getting much timing. the corresponding cell of the spark map call for 25-30ish* when we see 10-15 commanded advance. Not seeing any knock, IAT is good, coolant temp is good. i dont see any reasons for it to be pulling timing.

with this being my first speed density tune im still learning, he also still has a few kinks to work out. we are getting a p0343 cam sensor code and backfires on start up, likely from no cam signal, also he is not running a VSS.

any input on the timing issue would be welcomed

attached is the current tune and a short log file.
    82 c10 log file.hplgreg hahn 82 with 5.3 swap 7814 first tune of the day.hpt

I would try replacing the cam sensor first then go from there. I'm new to tuning, but I bet it has something to do with the cam sensor.

Tuner in Training
    Can you provide a log where you are WOT for more than a couple seconds? Right now on that log the only time I see you go WOT is right when it appears to be shifting gears and if it's only doing it during shifts there is lots of variables that could pull timing (torque management being the first that comes to mind).

If you can get a log from a dead stop going WOT or from a slow roll it would be a lot easier to see what your timing is doing at WOT.

that was supposed to be fixed when it came to be tuned, owner is currnetly looking into the issue. In the mean time i wanted to make sure there wasnt something i was missing.

Quote Originally Posted by ak2007r6 View Post