Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 21.0 AFR but smells rich? Just getting started

Tuner

21.0 AFR but smells rich? Just getting started

I am just getting started with my fresh rebuild and I am starting over tuning this as I never got anywhere before.
    I bought the truck the way it is (before I had to rebuild it) mods in sig but here it is again
    6.0, .030 milled 317 heads, Isky 218/218 110 lsa 47 degrees overlap
    Marine 8.1 injectors (I Know - data...)
    NNBS truck intake, 90mm edelbrock TB
    Pacesetter LT's

I am starting by tuning VE in idle areas and right off the bat things don't seem right (same reason I gave up last time but now I am asking for help)

First- I can drive the truck around on the stock tune and it runs ~ok but it stinks to high hell and I swear it gets 5 mpg's

I followed the instruction for SD only mode.
    Then removed fueling from the 0-1200 rpm columns of the VE

On startup it started just fine but then was halfass running after a few seconds.
    The log indicates AFR over 21.0 but the exhaust smells rich.
    I played with timing a bit to no avail.
    Also stabbed the throttle a few times and all it does it die (so does this tell me it really is super lean?)

After the first log I pasted the AFR error into the VE and the AFR came down some to ~18 but the it smelled super rich.

I have played with EOIT before and read the entire long EOIT thread twice but saw absolutely zero change even when I drastically changed the numbers to try to get an effect out of it.

I used the injector spreadsheet to create some numbers for me (accuracy ?!?!) can't buy good injectors. out - of - money

What am I missing here guys?

Stock Log
    stock log.hpl

Lowered VE in idle areas
    SDStarter.hpt
    Log.hpl
    Idle-Airflow(1) ve wideband - idle.cfg

Here is a log after I added to EOIT until I got as far as 1 reference period and saw no change
    eoit.hpl
    Last edited by aldrichg9; 06-24-2014 at 06:51 PM.