Thread: Noob tuning help on 5.3!!!

Potential Tuner

Noob tuning help on 5.3!!!

I am battling a fan issue so I can't get any scanner driving data to upload. I am completely new to HPtuners and tuning GM stuff......so please bare with me and be patient. I am trying to tune a 5.3 with an ls6 cam,ls1 manifold, and 60 lb injectors. (I am going to turbo soon but need to run it N/A on these injectors now). I have a 99 truck PCM I am working with (so a 5.3 tune) and I am running this in SD Open Loop. I have a wideband hooked up and gauge to monitor AFR's. I have used the injector scaling spreadsheet to calculate the injector flow rate vs KPA. When I use these numbers ranging from upper 60's to 70's....the car will not run/idle because it is so lean. The stock ecm was set at 21.8 across the board and runs rich. I have it calibrated to be between 29.9 and 32.8 as you can see in my tune. I have read all of the starting to tune stuff but since this is such a radical swap/combo I have in here the tune just seems soooooo jacked up. Looking at the timing tables and all sorts of things it just doesn't look right at all.... Here is a copy of my current tune which is the stock tune that was on this computer with the flow rate adjustments and the changes that I followed to put it in SDOL that I followed from the how-to's on here. Any help is very welcome on where to begin with this. I look forward to getting into tuning this car and I can't wait to get it driving correctly!

Thanks in advance

vettenewtune.hpt

Potential Tuner