Thread: looking for help to tune a 2005 1500hd 6.0 liter

Potential Tuner

looking for help to tune a 2005 1500hd 6.0 liter

Hi, Im new to this. I have always had Bryan at pcmforless do my tunes on my corvettes and camaros. I hooked my hptuner pro to my 2005 chevy 1500hd crewcab 4x4 6.0 liter to change the tire size on it. I put 285/75/16 tires on it. Other then that the truck is 100 percent stock. I would like a tune to get better gas mileage, and better shifts. I don't want to tear my tranny out either. I don't plan on racing the truck or dogging it all the time. Its pretty much a daily driver back and forth to work and occasionally pull my trailer with vette on it. I looked at a tune bluecreek posted for a 2006, but when I installed it on my truck it idled rough so I put the stock one back on it. If anyone can help with this I would very much appreciate it.
    Attached Files Attached Files

First off, you should never just flash someone else's entire tune into your vehicle. That tune was for their vehicle, and is 100% going to be wrong for yours. What you need to be doing is looking at parts of their tune, and maybe choosing certain parts of it to replace in your tune.

But anyways, I have a 03' 2500HD LQ4 and I pretty much had the same problem as you. I have been fiddling with some of the tune to get better gas mileage. Mostly the trans settings will help out quite a bit. Our OLFA tables are already at 1.00. Unfortunately we have big @ss trucks and they are doomed to get horrible gas mileage. lol

As posted, canned tunes not taylored to your setup can be a dangerous thing to try.

The best option is to read stickies and research, tayloring the tune to your vehicle based on actual logged data.

Research what has worked well for other with safe tranny setting and tune the fueling tables with a wideband. That is a good start then you can mess with spark and repeat fueling adjustmrnts as you continue to learn.