Thread: Need help with engine miss.

Tuner in Training

Need help with engine miss.

I'll preface again that I am brand new to HP tuners so I may be asking the wrong/or stupid questions.

This a 04 5.3L engine in a kit car that I built (Factory Five Daytona Coupe). It is controlled with a 02 F-body computer and stand alone harness. It is mostly a track car, but it gets driven on the street as well. It was initially tuned by an experienced tuner but has developed a under load high rpm stutter. It is really bad when you first start driving (but after ECT is above 180F) and is mostly gone after 10-20 mins of driving. So basicly I start the car and drive for a bit to get the engine temp up to normal, and then do a third gear WOT put. It Pulls good to about 4K rpm and then is stutters and misses so bad that it will barely rev past that point. I then drive for about 20 mins (or on the track it takes about two laps) and then do a pull again and for the most part will rev right to 6500 rpm without stuttering too much. It still does, but not nearly as bad. In all other driving relms it runs great wether it is warm or cold.

My first thought was some sensor on the engine needed to get heat soaked before it started working properly, and I thought it was an ignition thing. But now looking at the data logs it appears to be a fuel problem.

coldpull1: logging mostly sensor data and misfire data. Pull starts at frame 383.
    coldpull1.hpl

coldpull2: logging the default data (I forgot to log my WBo2), pull starts at frame 128.
    coldpull2.hpl

hotpull1:logging same as coldpull1. pull starts at frame 489
    hotpull1.hpl

hotpull2: logging same as coldpull2. Pull starts at frame 126. I also did some steady state logging at the end of this log.
    hotpull2.hpl