Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 06 LSJ idle hunt

Tuner in Training

06 LSJ idle hunt

Hey guys. So Im new to tuning, Ive been tuning for about 2 months. Ive read a lot on here, and help forums on the redline forums and cobaltss.net. I have 2 tuning books as well. I feel like Im doing a great job tuning, but idle cannot stay steady. Car is a 2006 Ion Redline. My mods are : K&N typhoon, ZZP s3 h/e, dual pass, zzp midlength header/catted downpipe, zzp 2.5 catback, AEM wideband, full bwoody mounts, gmpp clutch, 60's, 2.8", HP tuned, 2 step colder plugs, phenolic spacer, stainless brake lines, lnf shifter bracket, B&M short shifter, E85, LS4 TB. I bought a ZZP tune in the summer for my 60's on gas, and I used HPT to drop down to the 2.8, run on e85, and ls4 tb. I have logs to show what is going on. I have a AEM wideband, but I do not have the pro HPT so it is not logging, I usually just do short pulls and remember what the AFR is. Anyways, here are the problems:

As soon as I start the car, if engine is below 50* it isn't really a problem, but every other temp it is. Idle is nuts, goes anywhere from 400-2k rpm. I have tried everything, you can name it, I have done it. The idle hunt happened when I was stock, but not as bad at all, when I was on gas, on stock tb, etc. I even read knock at idle when the car adds timing to kick the idle back up! I have reduced timing everywhere, and I still get knock, im starting to think its false, perhaps because of my mounts. Anyways, idle does get normal after about 2 minutes of letting the thing do whatever. I don't let it do that though because, knock. When I turn off closed loop, reset trims, turn off short term, etc, the car can fix itself in about 30, but still reads knock.

Thanks for whoever responds! Appreciate it!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by PyroMechanic; 07-17-2015 at 09:21 AM.

Tuner in Training