Thread: New to Tuning

New to Tuning

Hi all my name is james and i just purchased the pro tuning package to start tuning for myself. I just wanted to know where everyone starts off learning to tune i have been reading many threads learning all the language and what does what. I just wanted to ask where i should start off with tuning my truck. i know a good bit of information but by no means do i know tuning. The truck as it sits now is a 5.3 with cam/stall/gears. i know i have to learn the tool first before i jump into it but wanted to know where to start off such as tuning the VE table or where is a good spot to start messing with paramaters. thanks for the help really looking forward to learning how to tune and i know many people on here can help out.

Potential Tuner
    James, you're not alone. I'm new to this field and trying to understand what's been done to my high performance autos over the years that I was previously baffled by. Best of luck,
    Roy

Advanced Tuner
    It will involve a lot of reading... To start, read the stickies. Do you have a wideband yet?

No I don't have a wide band planned on tuning it with what I have now until I go boosted

Advanced Tuner
    There's nothing wrong with tuning a stock/bolt on truck (even cam/stall) without a wideband, just using the o2's and trims. Do a google search for the BBA tuning guide. Its a pretty basic write-up on gen3 VE and MAF tuning.
    JTC Performance - Authorized HP Tuners Reseller
    Remote performance tuning

Senior Tuner
    If you have headers on that truck I would seriously advise against using the narrow to tune anything to do with fuel. You should start by reading this:
    http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showth...9805#post69805