Thread: 2011 HHR Turbo conversion.

Potential Tuner

2011 HHR Turbo conversion.

Hello to all.
    I am doing a turbo conversion on my HHR, This is a daily driver but not a commuter car.
    I am not new new to tuning just new to HP Tuner, Buick GN and obd1 chip burning. and mefi1-2. So i have a clue.
    I have been tuning on mine NA for about 2 months now, but just timing and cams. I am starting the turbo install now and need help on the new tune.

Turbo New Take off from a 2.0
    Boost will be no more then 6 LB.
    Cold air intake.
    Just a muffler change, Allready done dual exhaust, mangaflow mufflers.
    I am looking for a safe tune so anyone can drive the car,I all ready have toy cars this one is only being done because the 2.2 just does not have the power that i would like.

Last edited by Tom H; 01-02-2014 at 06:00 AM.

Potential Tuner
    Update.
    It is a 2011 HHR automatic.

It is great around town. Not liking the hi way. No passing power to much down shifting on hills.
    I was able to resolve most of the freeway way issues. Timing, cam tables, tcc and shift points.

Here is my problem, I was thinking the HHR SS and COBALT SS factory tunes would get me a baseline, seems they are on another platform (looks easier) then mine.
    Thanks in advance
    Tom Huard

You have a 2.4?

Do not use anything from the factory turbocharged tunes. The E67 is completely different from the E69. You don't need a "base map" just turn down high cyl airmass spark timing, might also be a good idea to add 10-20% to your high maf just to make sure you don't lean out the very first time. Then begin tuning.
    2006 Chevy Cobalt SS 2.4 Turbo
    320 whp 299 wtq

Advanced Tuner