Thread: 09 Sierra tuning

09 Sierra tuning

Looking to get feedback not a hand out just pointed in the right direction.

I'm not an expert or anywhere close to it. I'm a long time beginner. After getting frustrated with previous attempts at tuning. This time I'm really wanting to go through with it.
    I bought an 09 Sierra with 5.3 and 6 speed trans
    I put the Air aid MIT tube with dry filter and a maganflow muffler. Long tubes will come early next year.

So far I have done the following.
    Adjusted the MAF for the tube (still need to mess with it some more)
    Copied over the high octane spark table to the low octane table
    Adjusted tire size

I do feel a little better throttle response but it is an absolute pig under 2000 rpm

What should be my next step
    I hear or read everybody say "add timing and add fuel".
    Im guessing the high and low spark tables are the ones that take care of timing?
    What table takes care of the fuel?
    Is something like adding 3% to 5% fuel "safe way to do it?

Also what do the colors in the tables mean. Im guessing red is not good and Blue is good?

Excuse all the questions and the "im guessing" but i really want to learn this tuning.

Thanks
    2009 GMC Sierra All Terrain Z71

I wouldnt add fuel, that won't be the thing to help this issue.

I'm no real expert here but I think my idea of whats going on is close to correct. The computer has set points as to when it will allow the power to be put down. Like for going into what many call PE mode, as is giving it the beans.

I know that in one of the fuel tables (PE) there are a few things that can be changed to make the power come on quicker.