Thread: New member! Some questions.

Potential Tuner

New member! Some questions.

Ok so Im new to the tuning world and have been lurking the forums hard and bought Greg Banish's book. I own a 2006 Cobalt SS with some extensive work done to it. I have always had my tuning done at ZZP and have been happy with it. However I am moving to the Seattle area and figured I needed to be able to log and tune on my own! Anyway I had a E85 tune on it and it made great power (360whp) however it had some annoying idle surge. I had ZZP switch the car back to 93 pump gas and now im getting a decent amount of knock and the idle surge is still present. So now I need to get that fixed. Mods to the car are as follows:
    2006 Cobalt SS Supercharged 2.0 Liter I4
    Harrop 1320 TVS supercharger (2.7 pulley ~20lbs of boost)
    3” ZZP intake
    75 Lb valve springs
    ARP Head Studs
    Ported head
    ZZP Stage 2 Camshafts
    80# injectors with return style fuel system
    ZZP Longtube header and downpipe
    ZZP 2.5” catback
    GM performance parts upgraded clutch
    Griffen Heat exchanger
    Dual pass intercooler plate
    Option B
    How do you shorten a log?
    initial tune.hpt nolan.hpl
    Last edited by ThexGovenor; 12-22-2013 at 05:59 PM.

Potential Tuner
    at roughly 9:30 you can see the idle surge.
    Last edited by ThexGovenor; 12-22-2013 at 06:13 PM.

Senior Tuner
    Your really running rich there...REALLY RICH. I would start by taking/removing 10% from that MAF table, then get it close in the low range, disable the MAF, tune your VE Table. Get VE in good shape and then re-enable MAF and tune it, full range. Get both tables to within 2% error. I would also bump timing in that Idle table so there isn't such a harsh transition going from Idle to Load... disable trims and go OL to get VE, then tune MAF, then tune timing
    I think your combo of being rich and having really low timing is making a mess of your idle