Thread: A couple questions on knock retard from a total newbie

Potential Tuner

A couple questions on knock retard from a total newbie

1.4L Turbo in a 2013 Buick Encore (same drivetrain as Chevy Sonic/Cruze)

I just received my VCM Suite and all I've done so far is use the scanner. Right away I noticed this little car tends to really pull timing out on the highway when climbing hills, especially in hot weather. I had suspected it was doing this, since you can easily feel it when driving.

Would it be OK to try adjusting some of the tables related to this, a bit at a time, until I hear a little occasional knocking? I never hear any knocking at all now (I often drive with the windows down and radio off). I don't know if GM is being overly-cautious with this or not.

Also... before doing any flashing, what if I temporarily unbolted the knock sensor from the engine block to see what effect it has on the scanning data etc? I'd drive the car very carefully.

I know these may be dumb questions but thanks in advance for any input.

By the way... I'm having second thoughts about changing anything regarding the turbo. I'm getting great gas mileage and the stock boost, while conservative, looks pretty reasonable to me. I think if I can do something to reduce the way this car retards timing half the time, I'll be happy.

Log Knock Retard on all 4 cyls and see what cyl it's happening on and when. You should reduce timing in these areas for longer piston life. Adding more advance is just going to make the ECU pull more timing due to knock.

Also log intake air temps to see if it only happens when the intake air is hot, if so you can reduce the IAT advance.

Fill up with 93 or 91 octane to see if it's real knock. It'll decrease if it is.
    '12 Camaro T3 2SS/RS LS3 M6, SLP TVS 2300, Flex Fuel

Potential Tuner